A temple of Nichiren Sect.
Honami Kōetsu, craftsman, potter and calligrapher of great talent, given this land in 1615 by Tokugawa Ieyasu, formed a village of artists here and after his death his residence became a temple.
|The approach to the temple decorated with colored leaves|
|"Hondō", main hall|
|"Taikyo-an", one of the seven tea houses in the precincts,|
with beautiful leaves of "Dōdan-tsutsuji", Enkianthus perulatus
|"Kōetsu-gaki", unique curbed bamboo fence of Kōetsu style|
|"Ashibi", Japanese andromeda (Pieris japonica)|
|Central part of the city of Kyoto in the distance seen from the precincts|
|"The three mountains of Takagamine"|
(from left to right, Tengamine, Washigamine and Takagamine)
|"Honami-an", another tea house|
(all the tea houses were built in the Taishō period, 1912 - 1926, and after)